Edeltraud Hanappi-Egger new president of the SIGMA Alliance


At the SIGMA Annual Conference, Edeltraud Hanappi-Egger was elected President of the SIGMA Alliance.

SIGMA, the Societal Impact & Global Management Alliance, founded in 2015, is an international alliance of leading business universities that are committed to addressing far-reaching issues of social change and social responsibility in their research and teaching.

This year’s SIGMA Annual Conference was held at HSG St. Gallen on Friday, May 13, 2022. During this conference, WU Rector Edeltraud Hanappi-Egger was elected president of the SIGMA Alliance, for a term of office running until summer 2023. Timothy Clark, Provost of the Singapore Management University, was elected vice-president.

SIGMA is working to strengthen collaboration across the network by developing joint online courses, but it will also be promoting research collaboration and strategic exchange in the coming year. “SIGMA has been a pioneer in the field of the SDGs and international online teaching, and the next step is to further increase SIGMA’s international visibility,” says new SIGMA President Edeltraud Hanappi-Egger.

The SIGMA Alliance comprises the following member universities:

ESADE Business School, Escola de Administração de Empresas de São Paulo da Fundação Getulio Vargas (FGV EAESP), Copenhagen Business School (CBS), Hitotsubashi University (HU), Renmin University of China (RUC), Singapore Management University (SMU), Université Paris Dauphine (UPD), the University of St. Gallen (HSG), and WU (Vienna University of Economics and Business).

Back to overview