WU professor nominated to OeNB General Council


Austrian Finance Minister Brunner has nominated Sigrid Stagl, head of WU’s Institute for Ecological Economics, to the OeNB General Council.

The General Council of the Oesterreichische Nationalbank (OeNB), Austria’s central bank, performs functions similar to those of a supervisory board. Its main responsibility is advising the OeNB Governing Board. In the event of a Governing Board reshuffle, the General Council also proposes candidates for filling Governing Board positions to the federal government.

The members of the General Council are appointed by the government. The president of the General Council is Harald Mahrer, who also serves as president of the Austrian Economic Chamber. Vice president of the General Council is Barbara Kolm. The other members of the General Council are Erwin Hameseder (chairman of Raiffeisen-Holding NÖ-Wien), Stephan Koren (CEO of Wüstenrot Wohnungswirtschaft), Susanne Riess-Hahn (CEO of Bausparkasse Wüstenrot), Franz Maurer, Christoph Traunig, and Brigitte Unger.

Back to overview