Read out

Institute for Gender and Diversity in Organizations

Establishing the Institute for Gender and Diversity in Organizations in 2002 marked a milestone for research and higher education. Making questions of gender and diversity an integral part of its research and teaching agenda, WU Vienna is a role model within the international scientific community. Central to the Institute’s research and teaching activities are organizations and diversity as well as their complex social contexts.

The transformation of roles, structures and processes on both a global and a local level lead to changes of personal and organizational identities and make diversity a central issue. How gender, ethnicity, class, religion, age, educational background, sexual orientation, abilities or lifestyle – to name a few – structure relations of inequality and discrimination is the central focus of our research and teaching activities.

Rooted in critical and emancipatory epistemologies, both our research and teaching is guided by enhancing social justice and inclusion. In establishing cross-, inter- and trans-disciplinary perspectives on gender and diversity in organizations, the researchers at the Institute aim at forming a critical research and teaching field, both nationally as well as internationally. In addition to our scientific activities, our aim is to contribute to socio-political discussions and the exchange of knowledge related to issues of diversity in organizations on a broader scale.

Providing a forum for reflecting these and other similar questions, the Institute for Gender and Diversity in Organizations welcomes both national as well as international scholars to join in critical discourses related to organizations aiming at crossing disciplinary boundaries.

Vorlesen

Institut für Gender und Diversität in Organisationen

Die Gründung des Instituts ‚Gender und Diversität in Organisationen‘ im Jahr 2002 an der WU stellt einen forschungs- und bildungspolitischen Meilenstein dar. Durch die Integration von Gender- und Diversitätsforschung als einen fixen Bestandteil ihres wissenschaftlichen und lehrbezogenen Portfolios etablierte sich die WU Wien beispielgebend im internationalen Wissenschaftsraum. Im Mittelpunkt von Forschung und Lehre des Instituts stehen Organisationen und soziale Vielfalt sowie deren umfassende gesellschaftliche Kontexte.

Globaler und lokaler Wandel von Rollen, Strukturen und Prozessen führt zu Veränderungen von personalen und organisationalen Identitäten, welche durch verschiedene Diversitätsmerkmale gekennzeichnet sind. Identitätsaspekte wie Geschlecht, ethnische Zugehörigkeit, Klasse, Religion, Alter, Bildung, sexuelle Orientierung, psychische und physische Fähigkeiten, Lebensstil u.v.m. strukturieren diese Verhältnisse maßgeblich. Wie sich an Diversitätsdimensionen geknüpfte Ungleichheits- und Diskriminierungsverhältnisse in sozialer, kultureller, politischer und ökonomischer Hinsicht herstellen, Einfluss nehmen und verändern ist Gegenstand der Forschung.

Leitend für Forschung und Lehre sind kritisch-emanzipatorische Ansätze, die sich an Kriterien sozialer Gerechtigkeit und Inklusion orientieren. Mit der Etablierung cross-, trans- und interdisziplinärer Perspektiven auf Gender und Diversität in Organisationen gestalten die Wissenschafter_innen des Instituts den nationalen und internationalen Forschungs- und Lehrdiskurs mit. Damit leisten sie einen Beitrag zu gesellschaftspolitischen Diskussionen, Vernetzungen und Wissenstransfers in Bezug auf die Wahrnehmung von und Beschäftigung mit Vielfalt in Organisation und Gesellschaft. 

Als Ort der Reflexion heißt das Institut nationale und internationale Diversitätsforscher_innen Willkommen und bietet Raum für kooperative Entwicklungen von organisationsbezogenen disziplinen-überschreitenden Diskursen.