Read out

Benchmarking

Benchmarking is a versatile tool for evaluating and presenting data that can be used in a variety of types of analysis. The heart of this process is the systematic comparison of selected key performance indicators (KPIs) The goal is to present any differences, deviations or developments that may exist and, consequently, to point out possible inefficiencies and optimization potential. The objects of analysis are mostly organizational metrics, such as revenue, costs or efficiency comparisons. Comparisons between organizations on their impacts (for example on the quality of life of customers or on employee satisfaction) are very rare but very significant in terms of content. In addition, there are special benchmarks, such as salary comparisons.

From a temporal perspective, the comparison may, on the one hand, include several related key figures at a given time (e.g., a tariff comparison for a given multi-carrier performance in current year). Alternatively, the comparison may be made over time and reflect changes in a particular period of time (e.g., the evolution of the number of members in a specific organization in the last five years).

The graph below shows one way of presenting the KPI utilization rate of selected senior citizens’ residential and care facilities in the period 2015 to 2017. While in Facility C occupancy over the three years of observation has remained relatively stable, Facility F registers an increase of 5 percentage points in the second year of observation. In the following year, occupancy at this facility fell again by 10 percentage points. Facility D has continuously comparatively lower workloads. At best, countermeasures should be applied here.

The NPO Competence Center regularly carries out benchmarks within the framework of studies and on an assignment. Essential for an inter-organizational benchmark is the trust of all participating organizations in the integrity and independence of the implementing agency. This is guaranteed at the NPO Competence Center.

Reference Projects

Contact

Mag.Dr.rer.soc.oec. Christian Schober
Christian Schober
Scientific Director, Senior Researcher
Responsibilities: Work and research focus: Evaluation, SROI analyzes, financing, donation behavior, job satisfaction and motivation, care for the elderly, care for the disabled and accessibility
Flavia-Elvira Bogorin, BA, MSc (WU)
Flavia-Elvira Bogorin
Researcher
Responsibilities: Youth & Family, Health Promotion & Prevention, Nursing & Care, Homelessness, Volunteering, Civil Society

Vorlesen

Benchmarking

Benchmarking ist ein vielseitig verwendbares Instrument zur Auswertung und Darstellung von Daten, das in verschiedenen Arten von Analysen zur Anwendung kommen kann. Kernstück dieses Verfahrens ist die Gegenüberstellung ausgewählter Kennzahlen oder KPIs sowie deren systematischer Vergleich. Ziel ist es, etwaige Unterschiede, Abweichungen oder Entwicklungen darzustellen und im Anschluss etwaige Ineffizienzen und Optimierungspotenziale aufzuzeigen. Analysegegenstände sind meist organisationsrelevante Kennzahlen, wie beispielsweise Ertrags, Kosten oder Effizienzvergleiche. Seltener aber inhaltlich sehr bedeutsam sind Vergleiche zwischen Organisationen zu deren unterschiedlichen Wirkungen (z.B. Lebensqualität von KundInnen, MitarbeiterInnenzufriedenheit). Darüber hinaus gibt es Spezialbenchmarks, wie beispielsweise Gehaltsvergleiche.

Zeitlich betrachtet kann der Vergleich einerseits mehrere zu einander in Bezug stehenden Kennzahlen zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt inkludieren (z.B. ein Tarifvergleich für eine bestimmte Leistung über mehrere Träger im laufenden Jahr). Alternativ kann der Vergleich im Zeitverlauf erfolgen und dabei Änderungen in einem bestimmten Zeitraum abbilden (z.B. die Entwicklung der Mitgliederanzahl in einer bestimmten Organisation in den letzten fünf Jahren).

Nachfolgende Grafik zeigt eine Möglichkeit zur Darstellung des KPIs Auslastungsgrad von ausgewählten Altenwohn- und Pflegeeinrichtungen im Zeitraum 2015 bis 2017. Während in Einrichtung C die Auslastung über die drei Beobachtungsjahre relativ stabil geblieben ist, registriert Einrichtung F einen Zuwachs von 5 Prozentpunkte im zweiten Beobachtungsjahr. Im darauffolgenden Jahr ist die Auslastung in dieser Einrichtung wiederum um 10 Prozentpunkte gesunken. Einrichtung D hat kontinuierlich vergleichsweise niedrigere Auslastungen. Hier wäre allenfalls mit Gegensteuerungsmaßnahmen anzusetzen.

Das NPO-Kompetenzzentrum führt im Rahmen von Studien und auch extra beauftragt laufend Benchmarks durch. Wesentlich für einen organisationsübergreifenden Benchmark ist das Vertrauen aller teilnehmenden Organisationen in die Seriosität und Unabhängigkeit der durchführenden Stelle. Beides ist am NPO-Kompetenzzentrum gewährleistet.

Referenzprojekte

Kontakt

Mag.Dr.rer.soc.oec. Christian Schober
Christian Schober
Wissenschaftlicher Leiter, Senior Researcher
Aufgaben: Arbeits- und Forschungsschwerpunkte: Evaluation, SROI-Analysen, Finanzierung, Spendenverhalten, Arbeitszufriedenheit und Motivation, Altenpflege und –betreuung, Menschen mit Behinderung bzw. Barrierefreiheit
Flavia-Elvira Bogorin, BA, MSc (WU)
Flavia-Elvira Bogorin
Researcherin
Aufgaben: Jugend & Familie, Gesundheitsförderung & Prävention, Altenpflege- & Betreuung, Wohnungslosigkeit, Freiwilligenarbeit, Zivilgesellschaft