Read out

Home

Welcome!

The Institute for Multi-Level Governance and Development at the Socio-economics Department specializes in economic and socio-ecological development, focusing on actors, organizations and policy relevance. We are particularly interested in the interlinkages between global dynamics (growth compulsion, free trade, consumerism,…) and local and regional opportunities for policy, business and citizens to take action. The institute focusses on the following inter- and trans-disciplinary fields of research and teaching:

Show more

The socio-economic approach of the Institute draws on inter- and transdisciplinary collaboration and focuses on societally relevant topics, including democracy, climate change, international trade and investor protection agreements, biodiversity and mobility. Multi-level governance is a field, which understands political steering in terms of the interaction of multiple actors, including non-state actors, and stresses the importance of integrated analysis. Instead of addressing “the state” and “the market” as a duality, this approach bases empirical knowledge generation on multiple stakeholder analysis and considers new forms of the private and the public, including the commons, non-governmental organizations, and the solidarity economy. In doing so, it avoids both an antiquated understanding of methodological nationalism and unrealistic hopes for the emergence of Global Governance structures, but rather employs a more realistic multi-level analysis of contemporary governance issues.

 The institute’s agenda for research and teaching is geared towards cooperation with other institutes at the Department for Socio-Economics, the WU, and beyond. It also draws on transdisciplinary approaches and Knowledge Alliances, which include both academic and non-academic partners – the Good Life for All and “Hauptschule trifft Hochschule” (Secondary Education meets Higher Education).

News

(to all news...)

 

No news available.

Vorlesen

HomeRSS

Willkommen!

Das Institute for Multi-Level Governance and Development spezialisiert sich am Department für Sozioökonomie auf akteurs-, organisations- und politikrelevante Aspekte ökonomischer und sozialökologischer Entwicklung. Besonders interessiert uns das Zusammenspiel von globalen Dynamiken (Wachstumszwang, Freihandel, Konsumismus, …) und lokalen und regionalen Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten für Politik, Unternehmen und BürgerInnen. In Lehre und Forschung arbeitet das Institut zu den folgenden inter- und transdisziplinären Forschungsfeldern:

Mehr über dieses Thema

Der sozioökonomische Zugang am Institut basiert auf inter- und transdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit und konzentriert sich auf gesellschaftlich relevante Themen wie Demokratie, Klimawandel und internationalem Investorenschutz- und Handelsabkommen, Biodiversität und Mobilität. Multi-Level Governance, auf Deutsch holprig als Mehr-Ebenen-Steuerung übersetzt, beschreibt ein Politikfeld, das politische Gestaltung als ein Ensemble verschiedener, nicht nur staatlicher AkteurInnen versteht und die Wichtigkeit einer räumlich integrierten Analyse betont. An die Stelle eines Dualismus von „Staat oder Markt“ tritt eine empirisch basierte Mehr-AkteurInnen-Analyse und die Berücksichtigung neuer Formen von privat und öffentlich, insbesondere Commons, NPOs und Solidarökonomie. An die Stelle der überkommenen Fixierung auf nationale Politikfelder (methodological nationalism) und der überzogenen Hoffnung auf Global Governance tritt eine realistische Mehr-Ebenen-Analyse.

Die Forschungs- und Lehragenda ist auf Kooperation mit anderen Instituten am Department Sozioökonomie, der WU und darüber hinaus ausgerichtet. In Ansätzen ist die Forschung auch transdisziplinär und experimentiert mit Wissensallianzen mit akademischen und nicht-akademischen PartnerInnen – Gutes Leben für alle bzw. Hauptschule trifft Hochschule.

Aktuelle Institutsmeldungen

(zu allen News...)

 

Dr. Andreas Novy im Ö1 Mittagsjournal

Studiogespräch aus Anlass der Amazonas-Brände und der aktuellen ökonomischen Entwicklung

Dr. Gunther Maier in der ZIB 1 am 25.8.2019

Experteninterview zum Thema Immobilien und Maklerprovisionen

Neues Projekt: Governance of foundational economy

Andreas Novy und sein Team forschen zum Thema "Die Stärkung der Alltagsökonomie in Innerfavoriten am Beispiel von Einzelhandel und Kulturinitiativen"