Blick in die Lernzone beim D3 Gebäude.


WU Best Paper Award 2020

We congratulate our colleague Markus Lampe in winning the WU Best Paper Award 2020 in the category 2 (Work from the fields of business administration, economics and business education) for his publication “When Britain Turned Inward: The Impact of Interwar British Protection”

Sustainability Awards 2020

We congratulate our colleagues of the Institute for Ecological Economics who won together with Zentrum für Globaler Wandel (BOKU) and Uni Wegener Centre (Uni Graz) one of the Sustainability Awards 2020.

At WU this work was mostly done by our young researchers Ernest Aigner, Julia Grohs, Jonas Peisker, Birte Strunk and Christoph Ambach.

More information

Verleihung der Lehrbefugnis für Nadia STEIBER

Verleihung der Lehrbefugnis als Privatdozentin für das Fach „Sozioökonomie“ an Frau Dr. Nadia STEIBER

Frau Dr. Nadia Steiber wurde mit Bescheid vom 30. September 2020 die Lehrbefugnis als Privatdozentin für das Fach „Sozioökonomie“ gemäß § 103 Universitätsgesetz 2002 verliehen.

Verena Madner engaged as Vice President of the Constitutional Court

V. Madner

We congratulate our colleague Verena Madner for her appointment as new Vice-President and Member of the Austrian Constitutional Court. The Federal Government made this decision at the Council of Ministers on 22 April 2020. Federal President swore in Verena Madner as the new Vice-President of the Constitutional Court on 24 April 2020.


TALENTA 2020: Teresa Strobl (supervisor Felix Butzlaff) wins the prize for the best bachelor thesis at WU.
The bachelor thesis with the title "Framing der „Neuen Rechten“ – der Onlineauftritt der Identitären Bewegung Österreich" convinced the jury at all levels.


Unfortunately, the WU Awards cannot be presented during the Summer Festival this year. The awards ceremony will take place at another time.

Emanuele Campiglio receives ERC Starting Grant

Dr. Emanuele Campiglio from the Institute for Ecological Economics receives one of the prestigious European Research Council (ERC) Starting Grants!

In 2019, the ERC selected some 13% of applications for funding. ERC Starting Grants will back 115 early-career top researchers in the Social Sciences and Humanities (SSH). Emanuele is one among three Austrian SSH researchers to obtain an ERC Starting grant. This is an outstanding academic achievement, supported by a committed group of researchers at the Institute of Ecological Economics who share in this success.

Emanuele Campiglio has been awarded this grant for his research project “Sustainable finance for a smooth low-carbon transition” (SMOOTH). With funding of 1.5 million euros for a period of 5 years, Dr. Campiglio will be able to set up his own research group.

We wish our colleague all the best for his upcoming project!

Further information