Außenansicht des D3 Gebäudes

SuRe: Standards

This section provides an overview of three major sustainability reporting standards:

  • the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) Standards

  • the European Sustainability Reporting Standards (ESRS)

  • the IFRS Sustainability Disclosure Standards

Please cite this register in conjunction with the following article:
Hummel, K., Jobst, D., 2024. An Overview of Corporate Sustainability Reporting Legislation in the European Union. Accounting in Europe. DOI: 10.1080/17449480.2024.2312145



European Sustainability Reporting Standards

The ESRS are adopted by the European Commission and define specific disclosure requirements for the CSRD.


IFRS Sustainability Disclosure Standards

The IFRS Sustainability Disclosure Standards provide general requirements for the disclosure of sustainability-related financial information and standards on climate-related disclosures.


GRI Standards

The GRI Standards provide universal guidelines for sustainability reporting.