Read out

Tandem Learning

Registration for Winter Term 2019/20

Registration for the winter term 2019/20 is now open. Please use our online-form to register until October 8th the latest.

Tandem Learning

The Raiffeisen Language Resource Center has been home to WU's Tandem Language Learning Program for 17 years. Tenables students to teach and learn from one another. In a 'tandem' two students with different native languages and countries are matched together in order to teach and learn from one another. his active cultural and linguistic exchange program  is free of charge and students can register before each term. The program is currently open to WU students and incoming exchange students only.

The program was held for the first time in 2002, and so far, over 9000 students have participated in over 67 different language pairs.

“It was a unique experience that we both profited from equally. All it cost was time, but this was time that was well spent as an investment in my future. It was a welcome change to going to classes, it widened my horizon, and I made a new friend,” reports Carla, who was able to improve her own Italian language skills and help her tandem partner learn German through the program.

For many participants, the cultural exchange aspect and the idea of learning outside the classroom are the most important features of the program, while others appreciate the opportunity to use it to prepare for their foreign language courses at WU: “I was able to practice my Russian presentation with my tandem partner, who gave me very helpful tips on pronunciation. Sometimes I brought essays I had prepared ahead of time, and my tandem partner corrected my mistakes and discussed them with me,” said Simone about her tandem experience.

Who can benefit from tandem language learning?

Tandem as a free elective

What criteria do we use to process applications?

Why is the application no guarantee that you will be assigned a tandem partner?

Vorlesen

Tandem Learning

Anmeldung WS 2019/20 beendet

Die Anmeldung zum Tandem Language Learning Program WS 2019/20 ist beendet. Wir wünschen allen Teilnehmer/inne/n viel Spaß beim Sprachenlernen. Die Anmeldung für das SS 2020 startet im Februar.

Tandem Lerner

Seit mittlerweile 17 Jahren herrscht im Raiffeisen Sprachlernzentrum ein reger sprachlicher und kultureller Austausch im Rahmen des Tandem-Programmes. Studierende unterschiedlicher Muttersprachen und Nationen werden paarweise zusammengeführt, um ein effektives Erlernen der jeweiligen Wunschsprache zu erleichtern. Die Anmeldung ist kostenlos und findet vor Semesterbeginn statt. Teilnehmen können derzeit nur WU-Studierende.

Das Programm wurde erstmals im Jahr 2002 abgehalten und hat bisher über 9000 Teilnehmer/innen in 67 verschiedenen Sprachkombinationen hervorgebracht.

"Es war eine einzigartige Erfahrung von der wir beide auf gleiche Weise profitieren konnten. Gekostet hat es nichts, außer Zeit, aber eine Zeit, die ich in meine Zukunft investierte: Es war eine willkommene Abwechslung im Studium, es hat meinen Horizont erweitert und ich habe eine neue Freundschaft geschlossen", berichtet Carla, die mit Hilfe des Tandem Learning-Programms sowohl ihre eigenen Italienischkenntnisse verbesserte als auch ihrer Tandemparterin beim Deutsch-Lernen half.

Bei vielen Teilnehmer/inne/n liegt der Schwerpunkt beim kulturellen Austausch und in der Konversation abseits von Lehrbuchthemen, aber auch die gegenseitige Unterstützung in der Vorbereitung für die Sprachkurse an der WU kommt nicht zu kurz: "So übte ich eine Russischpräsentation in Gegenwart meiner Tandempartnerin, die mir hilfreiche Tipps zur Aussprache gab. Gelegentlich brachte ich auch Texte mit, die ich zuhause vorbereitet hatte. Meine Tandempartnerin korrigierte sie und anschließend diskutierten wir die Fehler", erzählt Simone von ihrer Tandem-Erfahrung.

Wer kann vom Tandem-Programm profitieren?

Tandem als Freies Wahlfach

Wie läuft die Anmeldung/Zuteilung genau ab?

Warum ist meine Anmeldung keine Garantie dafür auch wirklich ins Programm aufgenommen zu werden?