Read out

Research Institute for Urban Management and Governance

Modern city management has to keep up with complex changes in the economical, legal, political, technological, demographic and cultural spheres, while at the same time coping with an increasing scarcity of financial resources.

The Research Institute for Urban Management and Governance takes a multidisciplinary approach towards analysing issues of modern city management as well as questions of urban governance in an international context. The institute’s focus and core competences lie in the fields of the Social Sciences, Economics and Law.

Additionally, it draws on expertise in the Humanities and Cultural Studies, enriching and completing the research work. Specifics of municipal service provision are of particular interest: embedded in their general framework, the dynamics which mark the distribution and availability of public services are analysed. This process aims at identifying and framing long term perspectives and opportunities for urban development.

The research institute is headed by Verena Madner, Professor for Public Law and Public Management and Renate Meyer, Professor for Organization Studies. Apart from their research activities, the faculty members are committed to university education and involved in Executive Education and Training. In so doing, the institute supports the dialogue between science and decision makers in the communal administration, especially the key executives of the City of Vienna and its outsourced units. The institute not only provides a network of researchers and experts in the field but also fosters the science-practice transfer of knowledge by editing research results with a view to applicability.

Vorlesen

Forschungsinstitut für Urban Management and Governance

Modernes Stadtmanagement muss vielschichtigen wirtschaftlichen, rechtlichen, politischen, technologischen, demographischen und kulturellen Veränderungen Rechnung tragen - und dies vor dem Hintergrund knapper werdender budgetärer Ressourcen.

Das Forschungsinstitut für Urban Management and Governance untersucht Fragestellungen des modernen Stadtmanagements sowie der Urban Governance im internationalen Kontext und auf interdisziplinärer Basis. Der Fokus liegt auf den Sozial- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften und der Rechtswissenschaft.

Darüber hinaus wird auch geistes- und kulturwissenschaftliche Expertise in die Forschungstätigkeit miteinbezogen. Untersucht werden insbesondere Spezifika kommunaler Leistungserbringung, die dafür notwendigen Rahmenbedingungen sowie die Dynamiken, welche die Bereitstellung öffentlicher Dienste kennzeichnen. Dabei sollen längerfristige Perspektiven und Handlungsmöglichkeiten für die städtische Entwicklung aufgezeigt werden.

Das Forschungsinstitut wird von Verena Madner, Professorin für Öffentliches Recht, Umweltrecht, Public und Urban Governance und Renate Meyer, Professorin für Organization Studies geleitet. Die Institutsmitglieder sind neben der Forschung auch in der universitären Lehre und in Executive Education und Training tätig. Das Institut fördert so den Austausch zwischen Wissenschaft und Entscheidungsträgern in der kommunalen Verwaltung, insbesondere auch mit den Führungskräften der Gemeinde Wien und ihrer ausgegliederten Einheiten. Das Institut bringt dabei seine Kontakte zu anderen ForscherInnen ein. Auch mit der anwendungsorientierten Aufbereitung von Forschungsergebnissen trägt das Institut zum Wissenschaftstransfer in die Praxis bei. 

Tätigkeitsberichte

Mehr