Read out

Research

Within the heterogeneous sector of small and medium sized enterprises, the Institute for Small Business Management and Entrepreneurship is particularly interested in dynamic SMEs that are driven by change processes caused by entrepreneurial management.

In our fundamental research we are therefore interested in organisational dynamic capabilities, which lead to the successful handling of these dynamics. In this light, our research focuses on the connection between the entrepreneurial orientation, learning orientation und market orientation of SMEs and organisational success from the background of available resources or resources that can be made available.

Therefore, in our fundamental research we tackle broad research problems and take on the associated methodological challenges. With this, we try to avoid researching isolated, small niches. Quality criteria are connectivity to international discourse and the predictive power of the findings. Through interdisciplinary alignment and theoretical and methodological diversity, our research generates findings, which are proportionate to the complexity of the scientific object.

In the field of application-based research, the Institute for Small Business Management and Entrepreneurship is interested in open ended problems which go beyond the single case and that deal with fundamental issues. Our application-based research is carried out to high methodological standards, so that the results are relevant both for the client and for the scientific community.

For broad topics with current relevance, externally funded research institutes are set up and attached to the Institute for Small Business Management and Entrepreneurship. In this way, specific research needs can be covered in the broad field of SME management, or in closely related fields.

Vorlesen

Forschung


© WU

Innerhalb des heterogenen Bereichs der Klein- und Mittelunternehmen widmet sich das Institut für KMU-Management insbesondere den dynamischen KMU, die mit einem entrepreneurialen Management Veränderungsprozesse vorantreiben.

In der Grundlagenforschung interessieren uns daher organisationale Veränderungskompetenzen zum erfolgreichen Bewältigen dieser Dynamiken. In diesem Zusammenhang fokussiert unsere Forschung den Zusammenhang zwischen entrepreneurialer Orientierung, Lernorientierung und Marktorientierung von KMU und dem Unternehmenserfolg vor dem Hintergrund verfügbarer bzw. nutzbar zu machender Ressourcen.

Im Bereich der Grundlagenforschung bearbeiten wir somit breitere Fragestellungen und stellen uns bewusst den damit verbundenen methodischen Herausforderungen und versuchen so, dem isolierten Beforschen kleinster Nischen entgegen zu wirken. Qualitätskriterien sind die Anschlussfähigkeit an den internationalen Diskurs und die Prognosequalität der Erkenntnisse. Durch eine interdisziplinär ausgerichtete und der theoretischen und methodischen Vielfalt verpflichtete Forschung werden Erkenntnisse generiert, die der Komplexität des Erkenntnisobjekts angemessen sind.

Im Bereich der anwendungsorientierten Forschung beschäftigt sich das Institut für KMU-Management mit ergebnisoffenen, über den Einzelfall hinausreichenden, Grundsätzliches berührende Fragestellungen. Die anwendungsorientierte Forschung erfolgt mit hohem methodischen Anspruch, sodass die Ergebnisse sowohl für den Auftraggeber als auch für die Scientific Community relevant sind.

Zu breiten Themenfeldern mit aktueller Relevanz werden drittmittelfinanzierte Forschungsinstitute eingerichtet und an das Institut für KMU-Management angegliedert. Auf diese Weise können spezifische Forschungsbedarfe im weiten Gebiet des KMU-Managements oder in eng verwandten Bereichen abgedeckt werden.