Read out

NGO Academy

ERSTE Foundation NGO Academy is a joint project of the ERSTE Foundation and the Competence Center for Nonprofit Organizations and Social Entrepreneurship of Vienna University for Economics and Business. The NGO Academy was founded in 2013 with the goal of strengthening the civil society sector in Central and Southeast Europe by providing further educational opportunities. The Academy offers a range of high-quality capacity building programmes designed specifically for executive managers and staff members of NGOs. By transferring knowledge, imparting skills and helping participants to establish networks, the Academy supports the organisations themselves and indirectly also their beneficiaries. ERSTE Foundation NGO Academy offers two programmes: the Social Innovation and Management Programme and the Regional Programme. Both programmes are designed and implemented by the ERSTE Foundation and the Competence Center for Nonprofit Organizations and Social Entrepreneurship on a yearly basis. The Competence Center offers its expertise in the strategic social incorporation and development of the programme based on their research on civil society in the CEE region.

The Social Innovation and Management Programme is held in English and provides further training for executive and organisational staff working for NGOs in Central and Southeast Europe. The training is directed specifically at people in managerial positions with the ability to shape structural and organisational development as well as operational processes of the respective organisation.

The curriculum of ERSTE Foundation NGO Academy is tailored to the needs of the target group and based on the stages of development of social services. Parallel to individual skill acquisition the programme creates a constructive environment for addressing practical issues and establishing a network of peers in the CEE region. These processes are mentored by a faculty of approximately 40 experts with a scientific, non- or for-profit background. The faculty support the participants through lectures, group work, individual reflexion, expert-feedback-sessions and consultation on project and organisation development. This format ensures for varied perspectives and practical application of acquired skills and concepts.

The programme consists of three one-week modules, which take place in Vienna in the spring of each year. As part of the programme the participants are involved in social activities to initiate the formation of a sustainable network. In order to further strengthen the network and provide the opportunity to work on current issues, the participants are invited to an additional alumni module (Module IV) one year after completing the Social Innovation and Management Programme.

In 2018 the Social Innovation and Management Programme was successfully implemented for the fifth time. So far more than 120 people graduated from the programme.

The Regional Programme is part of ERSTE Foundation NGO Academy and offers thematic workshops to strengthen managerial competencies with regard to the local context and the respective needs of NGO staff in Central and Southeast Europe. The Regional Programme consists of a series of independent, mostly two-day workshops, which take place in countries of the CEE region. The workshops are offered in six language groups (English, German, Czech/Slovak, Hungarian, Romanian and Bosnian/Croatian/Serbian) to ensure equal access for all participating organisations. The workshops are held in cooperation with a variety of partner organisations and trainers from the CEE region.

The Regional Progamme was first implemented in the academic year 2014/2015. So far more than 1.000 individuals and approximately 270 organisations have benefitted from the 2.000 places available in numerous workshops.

Vorlesen

NGO Academy

Die ERSTE Foundation NGO Academy ist ein gemeinsames Projekt der ERSTE Stiftung und des Kompetenzzentrums für Nonprofit Organisationen und Social Entrepreneurship und wurde 2013 mit dem Ziel gegründet, zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen und Sozialunternehmen in 14 Ländern Zentral- und Südosteuropas durch Weiterentwicklungsangebote zu stärken. Sie bietet qualitativ hochwertige Capacity Building-Programme, die Führungskräfte und MitarbeiterInnen von NGOs bei ihrer organisationalen und individuellen Weiterentwicklung unterstützen. Damit sollen die Organisationen und indirekt auch ihre Stakeholder durch unterschiedliche Programme gefördert und in der Bewältigung bestehender und künftiger Herausforderungen in ihren Sektoren unterstützt werden. Die ERSTE Foundation NGO Academy besteht aus zwei Programmen, dem Social Innovation and Management Programme und dem Regional Programme, welche als Kooperation zwischen ERSTE Stiftung und dem Kompetenzzentrum für Nonprofit Organisationen und Social Entrepreneurship der WU Wien jährlich konzipiert und implementiert werden. Zudem unterstützt das Kompetenzzentrum mit seiner Expertise bei der strategischen Programmpositionierung und -weiterentwicklung, u.a. im Rahmen von Forschung zur Zivilgesellschaft in der CEE Region.

Das Social Innovation and Management Programme ist ein englischsprachiges Programm, das zur Organisations- und Führungskräfteweiterentwicklung für NGOs aus Zentral- und Südosteuropa beiträgt. Die Zielgruppe umfasst Personen, die aufgrund ihrer Management-Positionen Strukturen und Abläufe sowie die organisationale Weiterentwicklung aktiv beeinflussen und verändern können.

Als maßgeschneidertes und integriertes Programm für die ERSTE Foundation NGO Academy konzipiert, orientiert sich das Curriculum an den idealtypischen Schritten der Entwicklung sozialer Dienstleistungen. Neben dem individuellen Kompetenzerwerb schafft das Programm so geeignete Rahmenbedingungen für die Bearbeitung relevanter Aufgabenstellungen und den Aufbau von Kontakten zwischen den Teilnehmenden in der CEE Region. Hierfür steht eine rund 40-köpfige Faculty zur Verfügung, die sich aus Personen aus Wissenschaft, Non- und For-Profit Bereich zusammensetzt. Die Faculty unterstützt die Teilnehmenden u.a. im Rahmen von Vorträgen, Gruppenarbeiten, Einzelreflexionen, ExpertInnen-Feedback-Coachings sowie Projekt- und Organisationsentwicklung. Auf diese Weise wird sichergestellt, dass gezielt neue externe Perspektiven aufgezeigt werden können und die erarbeiteten Konzepte in die organisationale Praxis transferiert werden können.

Das Programm ist in drei einwöchige Module gegliedert, die jeweils im Frühjahr in Wien stattfinden. Während dieser Zeit wird auch die Netzwerkbildung unter den Teilnehmenden durch ein entsprechendes Rahmenprogramm gestärkt. Um diese weiter zu vertiefen, aber auch neue relevante Inhalte mit den Teilnehmenden zu erarbeiten, wird rund ein Jahr nach Abschluss des Social Innovation and Management Programme ein weiteres mehrtägiges Modul (Module IV) als Alumni Module angeboten.

Das Social Innovation and Management Programme wurde 2018 bereits zum fünften Mal erfolgreich durchgeführt. So konnten in den vergangenen Jahren mehr als 120 Personen das Programm erfolgreich abschließen.

Das Regional Programme ist ein Programm der ERSTE Foundation NGO Academy zur themenspezifischen Stärkung von Managementkompetenzen unter Einbezug des lokalen Kontexts, sowie der lokalen Weiterentwicklungsbedürfnisse von NGO-MitarbeiterInnen aus Zentral- und Südosteuropa. Es umfasst eine Serie voneinander unabhängigen, in aller Regel zweitägigen Workshops in den Ländern der Region. Diese werden grundsätzlich in sechs Sprachgruppen angeboten (Englisch, Deutsch, Tschechisch/Slowakisch, Ungarisch, Rumänisch und Bosnisch/Kroatisch/Serbisch), um allen Organisationen Zugang zu den Angeboten zu ermöglichen. Die Umsetzung erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit einer Vielzahl an Partnerorganisationen und Lehrenden aus der Region.

Das Regional Programme wurde im Studienjahr 2014/2015 zum ersten Mal durchgeführt und konnte in den vergangenen vier Jahren mehr als 1.000 Einzelpersonen aus rund 270 Organisationen erreichen, welche von knapp 2.000 Workshopplätzen Gebrauch machten.