Read out

Institute

Institute for Small Business Management and Entrepreneurship

The Austrian economy is dominated by small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs). The Institute for Small Business Management and Entrepreneurship sees it as its mission to investigate the opportunities and challenges these organisations face. Within this heterogeneous sector, we concentrate in particular, on dynamic SMEs that are driven by entrepreneurial management change processes.

In order that Austrian SMEs can fulfil their meaningful role as innovation and internationalisation drivers and consequently employment drivers, there is a requirement for organisational dynamic capabilities. These consequently stand at the centre of our research, the results of which we publish in international scientific journals.

In our teaching, we transmit to the future leaders of the SME sector, competencies in entrepreneurial management; such as entrepreneurial finance, entrepreneurial marketing, as well as corporate entrepreneurship.

In our teaching methods, we strive to find a balance between case studies with an analytical and a decision focus and theory-based reflections. In the light of its expertise, the Institute for Small Business Management and Entrepreneurship, together with the associated research institutes, fulfils its function in the area of knowledge transfer and sees itself as a partner for economic decision makers in the field of SME policy.

We realise our role in the scientific community through, for example, acting as conference chairs and co-chairs, as editors or associate editors and editorial board members of scientific journals, as well as providing reviews for numerous journals and juries.

Vorlesen

Institut

Das Institut für KMU-Management:

Die österreichische Wirtschaft wird von kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen (KMU) dominiert.

Das Institut für KMU-Management sieht es als seinen Auftrag, sich mit deren Chancen und Herausforderungen zu beschäftigen. Innerhalb dieses heterogenen Bereichs widmen wir uns insbesondere den dynamischen KMU, die mit einem entrepreneurialen Management Veränderungsprozesse vorantreiben.

Damit die österreichischen KMU ihre bedeutsame Rolle als Innovations- und Internationalisierungsmotor und folglich als Beschäftigungsmotor erfüllen können, braucht es organisationaler Veränderungskompetenzen, die folglich im Zentrum unserer Forschung stehen, deren Ergebnisse wir in internationalen wissenschaftlichen Journalen publizieren.

In der Lehre vermitteln wir der zukünftigen Führungsriege der mittelständischen Wirtschaft Kompetenzen im Entrepreneurial Management, wie etwa Entrepreneurial Finance, Entrepreneurial Marketing sowie Corporate Entrepreneurship. Didaktisch bemühen wir uns um eine Balance zwischen Fallstudien mit Analyse- und Entscheidungsfokus und theoriegeleiteter Reflexion.

Vor dem Hintergrund seiner Expertise nimmt das Institut für KMU-Management gemeinsam mit den verbundenen Forschungsinstituten seine Aufgaben im Rahmen des Wissenstransfers wahr und sieht sich als Ansprechpartner für wirtschaftspolitische Entscheidungsträger im Bereich der KMU-Politik.

Die Rolle in der Scientific Community nehmen wir unter anderem durch Funktionen als Conference Chairs bzw. Co-Chairs, als associate editors bzw. editorial board members von scientific journals sowie durch gutachterliche Tätigkeiten für zahlreiche Journale und Jurys wahr.