Organizational Structure Plan of WU Vienna University of Economics and Business





WU Organizational Structure Plan



Pursuant to § 21 (1) item 1 of the Universities Act 2002 (Universitätsgesetz), the following Organizational Structure Plan was approved by the University Board on April 11, 2023 after presentation by the Rector's Council and approval by the Senate. It shall become effective as of May 1, 2023, replacing the version of the Organizational Structure Plan published in the WU Bulletin dated May 5, 2021, issue 38, which ceases to be effective on April 30, 2023:

Preamble:

- 1. This Organizational Structure Plan describes the internal organization of WU Vienna University of Economics and Business. The Plan differentiates between academic units (teaching and/or research facilities) and administrative/service units.
- The university's academic units consist of departments, research institutes, competence centers, and the WU Executive Academy.
 Within departments, the establishment of institutes and groups is permissible pursuant to §§ 17 (1) and 20 (1) of the WU By-Laws.
- 3. With the exception of the bodies named in item 4 below, each administrative/service unit is allocated to a specific member of the Rector's Council. Pursuant to § 11 of the Rules of Procedure of the Rector's Council, the vice-rectors act as supervisors to the employees of these units on behalf of the rector.
- 4. The office of the Senate and the office of the Equal Opportunities Committee are service units that are allocated to the Senate and the Equal Opportunities Committee, respectively, and not to the Rector's Council. The chair of the Senate acts as supervisor to the employees of the office of the Senate on behalf of the rector. The chair of the Equal Opportunities Committee acts as supervisor to the employees of the office of the Equal Opportunities Committee on behalf of the rector.
- 5. The internal organization of the university is described and depicted in Annexes 1 and 2.

Chair of the University Board:

Cattina Leitner



Annex 1 Organization of academic units



Departments

Business Communication Economics Finance, Accounting and Statistics ²⁾ Global Business and Trade ²⁾ Information Systems and Operations Management ²⁾ Management ^{1) 2)} Marketing ²⁾ Private Law Public Law and Tax Law Socioeconomics Strategy and Innovation ²⁾

Research Institutes

Capital Markets CEE Legal Studies Computational Methods Co-Operation and Co-Operatives Cryptoeconomics Economics of Aging Economics of Inequality European Affairs (Europainstitut) Family Business International Taxation Regulatory Economics Spatial and Real Estate Economics Supply Chain Management

Competence Centers

Business Languages Emerging Markets and CEE Empirical Research Methods Experimental Research Nonprofit Organizations and Social Entrepreneurship Sustainability Transformation and Responsibility WU Entrepreneurship Center

WU Executive Academy

¹⁾ The Department of Management has been commissioned with the implementation of the interdisciplinary gender research and teaching activities required under § 49 of the University's Plan for the Advancement of Women (Frauenförderungsplan).

²⁾ The business administration-related Departments of Finance, Accounting and Statistics, Global Business and Trade, Information Systems and Operations Management, Management, Marketing and Strategy and Innovation together form the Convention of Business Administration-Related Departments (*Konvent der betriebswirtschaftlichen Departments*).



Annex 2 Service/administrative units, allocation to individual Rector's Council members



