Organizational Structure Plan of WU (Vienna University of Economics and Business)





WU Organizational Structure Plan



Pursuant to § 21 (1) item 1 of the Universities Act 2002 (Universitätsgesetz), the following Organizational Structure Plan was approved by the University Board on March 21, 2024, after presentation by the Rector's Council and approval by the Senate. It shall become effective as of April 1, 2024, replacing the version of the Organizational Structure Plan published in the WU Bulletin dated September 27, 2023, issue 53, which ceases to be effective on March 31, 2024.

Preamble:

- 1. This Organizational Structure Plan describes the internal organization of WU (Vienna University of Economics and Business). The plan differentiates between academic units (teaching and/or research facilities) and administrative/service units.
- 2. The university's academic units consist of departments, research institutes, competence centers, and the WU Executive Academy.

 Within departments, the establishment of institutes and groups is permissible pursuant to §§ 17 (1) and 20 (1) of the WU By-Laws.
- 3. With the exception of the bodies named in item 4 below, each administrative/service unit is allocated to a specific member of the Rector's Council. Pursuant to § 11 of the Rules of Procedure of the Rector's Council, the Vice-Rectors act as supervisors to the employees of these units on behalf of the Rector.
- 4. The office of the Senate and the office of the Equal Opportunities Committee are service units that are allocated to the Senate and the Equal Opportunities Committee, respectively, and not to the Rector's Council. The chair of the Senate acts as supervisor to the employees of the office of the Senate on behalf of the Rector. The chair of the Equal Opportunities Committee acts as supervisor to the employees of the office of the Equal Opportunities Committee on behalf of the Rector.
- 5. The internal organization of the university is described and depicted in Annexes 1 and 2.

Chair of the University Board:

Cattina Leitner



Annex 1

Organization of academic units



Departments

Business Communication

Economics

Finance, Accounting and Statistics 2)

Global Business and Trade 2)

Information Systems and Operations

Management 2)

Management 1) 2)

Marketing 2)

Private Law

Public Law and Tax Law

Socioeconomics

Strategy and Innovation 2)

Research Institutes

Capital Markets

CEE Legal Studies

Computational Methods

Co-Operation and Co-Operatives

Cryptoeconomics

Economics of Aging

Economics of Inequality

International Taxation

Regulatory Economics

Spatial and Real Estate Economics

Supply Chain Management

Urban Management and Governance

Competence Centers

Business Languages

Emerging Markets and CEE

Empirical Research Methods

Experimental Research

Nonprofit Organizations and Social

Entrepreneurship

Sustainability Transformation and Responsibility

WU Entrepreneurship Center

WU Executive Academy

¹⁾ The Department of Management has been commissioned with the implementation of the interdisciplinary gender research and teaching activities required under § 49 of the University's Plan for the Advancement of Women (Frauenförderungsplan).

²⁾The business administration-related Departments of Finance, Accounting and Statistics, Global Business and Trade, Information Systems and Operations Management, Management, Marketing, and Strategy and Innovation together form the Convention of Business Administration-Related Departments (*Konvent der betriebswirtschaftlichen Departments*).







Annex 2

Service/administrative units, allocation to individual Rector's Council members



