

WU City of Vienna Best Paper Award



Getting research results published is an integral part of any academic career. The WU Best Paper Award, established in the year 2000, aims to encourage WU researchers to build a stronger presence in the international exchange of ideas in their respective disciplines with high-quality publications. The award is also intended to serve as a platform for giving more public visibility to the excellent achievements of WU researchers. It honors outstanding paper publications in internationally renowned journals and is financed by the WU Anniversary Fund of the City of Vienna.

The WU City of Vienna Best Paper Award is presented annually to recognize the best journal papers published by WU researchers in the previous calendar year. The award is worth € 7,000 for each winning submission in three different categories:

Category 1: quantitative-analytical work or research based on the methods of the formal sciences (this category is open to nominations from all fields)

Category 2: Publications in the fields of business administration, economics, business education

Category 3: Articles on foreign language business communication, law, humanities, sociology, economic geography, and interdisciplinary topics

Award Ceremony

The award-winning papers will be presented to the public as part of the Wiener Vorlesungen lecture series. The event will open with a lecture of the Wiener Vorlesungen. The lecture will be followed by the presentation of the awards.

Past Prize Winners

2015: Sylvia Frühwirth-Schnatter, Rainer Jankowitsch, Florian Nagler, Maria Rita Testa

2014: Klaus Gugler, Nils Löhndorf, Ulrike Schneider, Birgit Trukeschitz

2013: Karl-Michael Brunner, Nils Friewald, Klaus Gugler, Rainer Jankowitsch, Katrin Rabitsch, Arne Westerkamp

2012: Ulrich Berger, Klaus Gugler, Neil Stoughton, Josef Zechner

2011: Harald Badinger, Jesus Crespo Cuaresma, Hannelore De Silva, Wolfgang Lutz

2010: Nikolaus Franke, Peter Keinz, Patrick Mair, Erich Vranes

2009: Christian Bellak, Nikolaus Franke, Peter Keinz, Markus Leibrecht, Elfriede Penz, Erich Vranes

2008: Hannelore De Silva, Ulrich Berger

2007: Manfred M. Fischer, Christoph Hienerth, Thomas Bachner

2006: Julia Brandl, Rainer Jankowitsch, Stephan Klinger, Stefan Pichler, Irene Pollach

2005: Regina Tüchler, Sylvia Frühwirth-Schnatter, Thomas Otter, Ulrich Berger, Mark Strembeck, Gustaf Neumann

2004: Nikolaus Franke, Christian Lüthje, Werner Müller, Andrej Pázman, Herbert Walther

2003: Manfred M. Fischer, Martin Reismann, Harald Badinger, Thomas Url, Friedrich Leisch, Alois Geyer

2002: Thomas Grandner

2001: Alfred Taudes, Markus Feurstein, Andreas Mild

2000: Peter Berger, Alois Geyer, Stefan Pichler, Martin Natter, Alexander Prosser, Robert Müller

For more information on the WU Best Paper Award and the call for applications, please see the <u>WU research</u> <u>funding database</u>.

Jury

Based on its experience, the Vienna Science and Technology Fund (WWTF) assembles groups of three to four international reviewers for every category whose expertise covers a wide range of relevant fields. To guarantee the quality of the review process, the jury members change every year. Each jury member reads the submissions in his or her field critically, evaluating the publications according to qualitative and quantitative criteria.

The final decision for each category is made jointly by all jury members during an online meeting organized by the WWTF.

Since the introduction of this review process in 2013, many well-known, internationally renowned scientists and scholars have formed part of the WU Best Paper Award juries.

Past Jury Members

Charles Becker (Duke University, USA), Martin Biewen (University of Tübingen, DE), Monica Billio (Università Ca' Foscari di Venezia, IT), David Bloom (Harvard University, US), Emanuele Borgonovo (Università Bocconi, IT), Rajesh K. Chandy (London Business School, GB), Emilia Del Bono (University of Essex, GB), Mardi Dungey (University of Tasmania, AUS), Oliver Falck (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München/LMU Munich, DE), Hélyette Geman (University of London, GB), Nabanita Datta Gupta (Aarhus University, DK), Hendrik Jürges (University of Wuppertal, DE), Susanne Leist (Universität Regensburg, DE), Volker Meier (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München/LMU Munich, DE), Abhinay Muthoo (University of Warwick, GB), Sabu Padmadas (University of Southampton, GB), Morten Ravn (University College London, GB), Peter Michael Robinson (London School of Economics, GB), Rickard Sandberg (Stockholm School of Economics, SE), Armin Schmutzler (University of Zurich, CH), Philip Shapira (University of Manchester, GB), Thomas Siedler (Universität Hamburg, DE), Silvana Tenreyro (London School of Economics, GB), Stein W. Wallace (Norwegian School of Economics, NO), Jürgen Wasem (University of Duisburg-Essen, DE), Berthold U. Wigger (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, DE), Rainer Winkelmann (Universität Zürich, CH).